Coaches Report- November 2019

The Coaches Committee worked through the process of 2019 Coach of the Year selections, discussing factors that have been used in the past for nomination/selection, and identifying factors that should/may be included in future selections. Our committee worked in concert with the Age Group Committee to help delineate a criterion between Age Group and Senior swimming for their award. The conclusion of our committee is that there are many Coaches that are advancing their respective programs, and this award process should attempt to identify and recognize as many of those programs as possible on an annual basis. The criteria and factors and process could change from year to year based upon the accomplishments of our Coaches and is not set in stone. This past year, the standard of excellence to achieve recognition and a nomination as a finalist for the COY award was to place a swimmer on the National or National Junior Team. Congratulations to this year's eight finalists:

Ron Aitken-Sandpipers of Nevada

Lorena Diaconescu-Team Rebel Aquatics Jim Johnson-Brea Aquatics Dave Kelsheimer- Team Santa Monica Dave Salo- Trojan Swim Club

Mark Schubert- Mission Viejo Natadores

Monique Shelton- Beach Cities Swimming

Rick Shipherd- LA Mirada Armada

The Coach of the Year winner will be announced at our November BOD meeting.